• Want to take part in this year's BoS Trials event for Maths and/or Business Studies?
    Click here for details and register now!
  • YOU can help the next generation of students in the community!
    Share your trial papers and notes on our Notes & Resources page

What to major in? doing Arts/Commerce (1 Viewer)

nika88

HSC
Hi! if you could give me your opinion, it would be greatly appreciated! thanks =)

I'm a first year Arts/Commerce student
I chose Arts/Commerce because it's pretty broad and when i picked it, i had no idea what i wanted to do so i thought it would be a good place to start.
In Arts i'll probably be majoring in Chinese and other units I'm doing include International studies units and I'm considering doing french.
In commerce, i'm doing accounting and microeconomics this semester.

But anyway, I'm at a complete loss as to what to major in for Commerce.
I was thinking along the lines of accounting, or finance, as the job prospects are the best for these two. and maybe economics?
I quite like what we've done in accounting so far and I'm doing quite well in it.
But the problem is, out of the core subjects, we can only choose either the second unit of accounting or introduction to finance so im not really sure which way is better to go. accounting or finance? or economics? im doing equally well in accounting and economics and i enjoy them both. i've never done finance.
in your opinion, which has the best job prospects.

also, if i were to major in finance or accounting, would the Arts degree be completely useless? am I wasting my time with Arts?
Should I just transfer to straight commerce so i can have a double major?
I like my arts subjects, but I'm starting to think they're useless if im going to be majoring in accounting or finance.
Or can you suggest any other Arts subjects that would complement my degree?

thanks for your help!

CieL

HSC
lol thinking about what to major in already?