3616 teaching standards (1 Viewer)

ninjapuppet

HSC
N/A
Had first 3616 lecture today and seriously, about 20 people walked out of the lecture in the first 5 minutes.

I'm from an asian background, and I'm fairly tolerant to dealing with ethnics.
But if found the lecturer's accent totally incomprehensible. Kiwi's swap their "e" and "i" around but this guy.... he swaps all 5 vowels around randomly.

I dont generally pay ppl out for their accents, but when my marks partially depend on regurgitating back what they are saying, i'm not happy.

its pissing me off, as i'm a full fee paying student, and I feel cheated. UNSW ASB is one of the most expensive courses in Australia and this is the standard of lecturers that unsw is providing me!?!?

emailed a complaint to the head of school, and the admin people, only to get a polite reply along the lines of : The guy's got a PHD, so suck shit, tough luck.
Like wow, me thinks his PHD must stand for permanent head damage!

Theres a few posts out there paying out Henry Yip, but i disagree and find him easy to understand, and at least really trying to help students.

sorry guys, i'm just bitching here, because the school of finance cant take any critcism.

jeffchong

HSC
lol. I was in 3616 lecture today as well. That fob lecturer is totally crap. I couldn't understand 80% of what he's saying, even when I am paying 123.654% concentration.
Oh yea. I'm also doing 2624, and after hearing from numerous complaints about him, I was expecting Henry Yip to be crap. But apparently, I actually liked his lecture (well, at least for the first one). But this Bohui dude is totally crap. I agree with you - it is very irresponsible for ASB to let such a crappy lecturer lecture us. No matter how smart he is, if he can't teach what he knows to others, he's useless.

Btw, where were you in lecture? I was in the first row :D

Last edited:

seremify007

HSC
Uni Grad