Advanced English vs Standard English (1 Viewer)

neon766

HSC
so i've been thinking would it be better getting a 65/100 in the HSC exam in advanced than getting 75/100 in standard english.

help would be appreciated in determining the pros and cons of both subjects.. because i'm an adv student at the moment.. and contemplating dropping to standard.. but at to what expense? thanks guys!

Tofuu

HSC
ask your teacher if she/he thinks you should drop or not, they'd probably have the best answer

and don't think you'll be getting low because there is still a long time for improvement

ValentinesM

HSC
content - wise:
  • one of the incentives of standard english is that it does not contain any Shakespeare component, which is a big plus for a lot of people.
  • Also, Advanced English focuses more on the 'how' bit (ie. how the composer expresses an idea) and so it's more analytical than Standard.
marks-wise:
  • if you look at the tables published by UAC, you'll see that only a very very small percentage of candidates fall into band 6 for standard, as compared to advanced. so, advanced scales better than standard.
I think if you work hard, you'll get over 65 easily for advanced. Whichever course you end up doing, try to clarify or sharpen your interpretation of the texts by thinking about what others have said, and what you've thought along the way. Then practise writing essays. This will improve both your understanding and expression.

Good luck!!

ROCKNROLLA

HSC
N/A
I remember my teacher saying its better to be in the top of standard english than at the bottom of advanced :)

NewiJapper

HSC
Honestly I think most people are capable of doing Adv. English. The people that bomb out at english or drop down to standard obviously aren't doing enough work. If you can't be bothered to put in the effort, then do go for it.

spagbowl

bread.
HSC
if you are capable of modern and ancient history as well as history ext, u should be more than capable to do well in advanced english.