Advanced or Standard English? (1 Viewer)

jellybaby

Awesome!
HSC
Hi

Since this is the most important time to decide on the english class, i have started this post to get advice on the two english subjects as i am currently trying to make a decision whether to move from Advanced to Standard.

My current situation is that i am getting ranked in the last 10th people or so out of 20ish, i am getting highest 70% and mid band 5. I am unsure if standard would do me a better justice as i am currently studying: Economics, Legal studies, Business studies, Maths 2u, Ext. maths 1u and SOR 1u.

My question and main reason for this post is to start a discussion on both english classes on how they differ and what is the better option for those like me etc.

Thank you
:)

Flop21

HSC
I would like to hear this also. So in standard, they have different topics in the modules? What makes it 'easier', you still have to sit there and write 3 essays right?

HecticSandWitch

2007 fuccboi hustler king
HSC
I would like to hear this also. So in standard, they have different topics in the modules? What makes it 'easier', you still have to sit there and write 3 essays right?
Taking a look at my mates standard paper, they don't ask for as an in-depth analysis and the ideas they discuss are less specific. They also don't study a shakespeare.

If you have a high 70% average I recommend you stay in Advanced. With enough work, you can push it up to a low eightys which is worth a band 6. Statistically speaking, 10% of the Advanced Cohort recieve a band 6 while something like 0.6% recieve a Band 6 for Standard, so I'd argue that in many ways, advanced is certainly the easier option.

blackbird_14

HSC
Taking a look at my mates standard paper, they don't ask for as an in-depth analysis and the ideas they discuss are less specific. They also don't study a shakespeare.