Another tutoring thread... COME ON IN! English, History, Legal Studies! (1 Viewer)

acemusic415

HSC
Hey guys!
I graduated in 2011 with an ATAR of 97.90 and am offering tutoring for English, Ancient History, History Extension and Legal Studies. I'm currently in my 2nd year of International Studies and Law at UNSW. I am extremely dedicated and have experience in teaching and all the skills associated to tutoring, having assisted several students over the past year and a half. My skills of teaching have extended beyond the classroom and I have a bounty of experience in terms of volunteering and education.

Communication is key
As a tutor, I think communication is crucial in developing an understanding for a course. My method of teaching is humanising the topics we learn. I attempt to make sure what you learn can be seen through your experiences and perspectives. By doing so, this simplifies the course and makes it far more enjoyable. Through my experience, a number of students have suffered from this problem, largely at the hand of the school's inadequate teaching. By humanising the topics you learn, particularly for English and other humanities, you can see the bigger picture and ultimately, the reason why you are learning these topics (often not mentioned in schools).

Experience
I have tutored over two years now, working privately and in colleges. I have assisted several students in seeing a substantial improvement in their marks.

- Dux College: I'm still an active English and humanities teacher, working particularly in Standard and Advanced English. So I have a strong understanding of student's general strengths and weaknesses.
- UNSW Law Faculty Schools Legal Education Group Mentor: I've worked at various schools, teaching students Legal Studies including North Sydney Boys High School and Strathfield Girls High School. So I'm trained and adept when it comes to students and catering to their needs.