Atar Estimate (1 Viewer)

830cracker

HSC
Hi, I’m a year 12 student at a school ranked 80-100 over the years. These are the ranks for my subjects:

English Advanced: rank 80/105 (sadly my rank will probably drop to 95-100 after the rank for our recent assessment come out; a side note, around 85-90% of my school gets band 5 & 6 for English adv, and normally the rest all get band4s.)
Math Extension 1: rank 2/65
Math Extension 2: rank 6/22 (a lot of people tied first, my score was good)
Chinese in Context: rank 9/25 (doing it externally at one of the most competitive saturday school centre)

and I got 89 on IPT HSC last year as an accelerated subject(ranked 7/10 internally)

I’m aiming for computer science at unsw, which requires a 90 atar for direct entry or 83 if I get into the FEAS program. I’m just wondering what would be my estimated atar with my current performance? I’ll try harder for English for future assessments though, hopefully getting a 75+ subject score in that; and based on the past stats of my school, I think I’m capable of getting a low-mid band 6 for 3u math and chinese, a high band 5 or low band 6 for extension 2.

also this might be strange to ask, I’m wondering if I don’t meet the atar requirement for unsw compsci, but sit the SAT test and meet the international scoreline for that, do you guys reckon I still have a chance for an offer? Like some of my peers got into their dream uni degree before commencing year12 as they completed A-Levels in year11 & met the scoreline, even though they are domestic students studying at local nsw high schools. Like I’m thinking about having some backups right now but please let me know if you don’t recommend me doing that haha

Last edited:

jimmysmith560

Le Phénix Trilingue
HSC
Uni Grad
From the information that you have provided, I believe that your current performance is consistent with an ATAR of at least 88 and up to 94.