Bankstown B.A Texts and Traditions 2009 Spring Session, EXPENSIVE TEXTBOOKS (1 Viewer)

bryandawn

HSC
N/A
I will be doing this unit 100968 at Bankstown next semester, the spring session, and so I checked on connect books website the textbook list, and to my utter surprise, the total price for all the books is a whopping $218.95, eight books to read.

What is unfair is, prior to next semester, the students who did this unit at Penrith only needed to spend 41.11 for their textbooks for this particular unit. This is completely unfair and unreasonable.

I have sent an email to Professor Nancy Wright nancy.wright@uws.edu.au, made a complaint to her. As below:

Dear Professor Nancy Wright

I am a first year student doing combined Bachelor of Laws/Bachelor of Arts, and I do my Arts component at Bankstown campus; I was just checking the textbook list for the unit Texts and Traditions 100968, at Textbooks Ordering and to my utter surprise, the number of textbooks required and the total price is shocking!

The total price for all the books added up together is 218.95 dollars, compared to the Autumn session which has just finished in Penrith, the students there only needed to read a few books at the total cost of 41.11 dollars.

The price difference is 177.84 dollars, over 4 times the total price for the students who did this unit at Penrith campus merely a session before us. I find this change of reading materials and especially the price completely unacceptable. Also because we had a sudden change of textbooks, that means we cannot even reasonably expect to purchase second hand copies from our preceding fellow students.

I wonder if the university had the students' financial strains in mind when designing the prescribed reading for this unit.