Cadetship Questions (1 Viewer)

User12

HSC
Hey everyone newbie here.

I have been talking to a few mates that finished yr 12 and are doing cadetships (if that statement makes sense :redface::redface:). I know basically what its about, working part time while studying at uni, hopefully in the area you want to work eventually in.

Can someone shed some more light on this topic as i would love to learn more about it :smile: Like does the university help you obtain cadetships and are there ones for every type of course and career paths, like Actuaries for example?

Thanks for your help everyone!

ajdlinux

Mod: ANU, ATAR/HSC Marks
HSC
I don't personally have much experience with cadetships, although quite a few friends of mine are doing ICT cadetships in the Australian Public Service. They work two days a week as APS2 (that's around $40-50k full-time salary, not sure what that converts to for part-time cadets) and they spend the rest of their time doing uni.

Here at ANU the uni basically just advertises positions and doesn't really help with the rest of the process. Not sure what it's like at Sydney unis but I imagine it would depend on the uni, the course, the employer, etc.

User12

HSC
Thanks for the reply mate i appreciate it. Can anyone shed some light here as well?

BiancaC

HSC
Cadetships are very limited in terms of the field they are offered in.

They are most popular in business, specifically accounting. It involves turning a three year degree into four. Here, you work full-time and go to uni part-time for two years before you switch, working casually (part-time) and going to uni full-time for two years.

I'm speaking from a point of business as it is what I know well. Accounting is the most common in that most big 4 and mid-tier firms offer them. However, some investment banks also offer them in some internal firm functions (like operations and finance - the latter of which is really just internal accounting).