Centrelink (1 Viewer)

Annegelic

Taper jean girl
HSC
Sorry for creating the millionth thread on centrelink, but I've been to the site, read it over, searched the forum, read the other threads and I still don't get it. I have no idea how this works. I'm a full-time uni student, not working but currently (desperately) looking. How do you go about getting money from centrelink.... as in what's the criteria they look at for full-time non-working uni students ?

My family situation: living at home, parents still married, both full-time workers with average incomes. Am i elligible for anything from centrelink ?

Also, anyone currenly receiving money from centrelink pls tell how you went about it, the process, what they looked at, did you lie, etc.

hipsta_jess

Up the mighty red V
HSC
N/A
You're classed as a dependant of your parents, which means their income decides whether or not you get anything. Chances are, with "average" incomes, you will not be eligible, but just go into a centrelink office and talk to one of the front desk peoples, they'll be able to tell you more.

Last edited:

asscookie

dork.
HSC
I get a youth allowance. I'm 18, not living at home, and doing year 12 this year. I filed my youth allowance under the "Unreasonable to live at home" thing, but for that I had to meet with the social worker at Centrelink a few times for it to be approved. I also had to have a family member and another person complete a booklet describing my situation in their own words.