Course Crisis (1 Viewer)

-pari-

HSC
N/A
*sigh* so i thought i was decided on my course - looks like i'm up in the air again.

my intial inclinations that i was set on was the business/commerce side
first i was thinking b.com/law
but then preferred b.com followed by MBA [partially because MBA was something i wanted to do before, and with com/law it'd stretch to 7yrs + com/law entry is probably too high for my UAI]

so now i'm not sure about this whole business side.
i dont want to go into accounting/finance - so what else can i get out of the commerce degree? i was thinking of going marketing... it would suit my "creative" side more - but then i've read/heard countless opinions that marketing is all wishywashy and lacks any real substance, with shaky career/job prospects.

i have a slight inclination to the creative side --> design.
more specifically looking at interior design/ set/film design - probably through a bach. of architecture degree
but i'm not a great artist. i do alright :S i dont have a lot of background in visual arts/design....
and from what i've gathered, b.arch is a pretty full on course, with a very heavy load, and i'm not sure if i'm passionate enough to slog through long painful hours.......
not to mention in the actual marketplace - i've heard about how darn competitive it is being a designer. there are already plenty out there, pay prospects arent crash hot, nor are actual job prospects.
business is stereotypically more 'secure' than arts....

SO i'm stuck! :(

if anyone in either career line (business/design) could gimme some feedback/opinions on how they like the course and where they intend to go with it, what you think of the employment prospects etc, that'd be awesome... :)

danielvh

HSC
How about doing a Bachelor of Economics? Your sig says that you're doing it in high school. Are you enjoying it?

You could double major in economics and marketing which would allow you to enter any of the business field type jobs or marketing jobs.