Cycling? for dummies? (1 Viewer)

sirfeathers

HSC
Hey everyone,

I'm in Year 12 atm, planning to go to UNSW next year, and I live kindof close-ish but too far to walk (Inner-East). Because I live so close to the cbd and my school, for the last few years my main mode of transport has been my feet. But I still don't have my Ls, and it'll take me like 5 years to get my Ps probs because the only time we use the car is mum's 5min grocery shopping trips every weekend. Plus petrol prices are rising and rising, parents need the car, and I am poor.

So I was thinking...CYCLING! Because it's cheaper and simple and pretty fast and environmentally friendly, yes?

But also a good way to piss off drivers and get yourself impaled on car doors and things like that. Or so I gather, in Sydney anyway. (and you can't ride on the footpath, right?)

So any of you out there who cycle to school/uni/wherever, do you have any advice? About anything? I am an absolute novice just to remind you. Apart from the fact that I know how to ride a bike I know zilch about cycling (and even that I haven't done for a few years now)

I'm guessing that there are probably other cycling dummies like me who are considering this as a transport option but just don't how to get into it. ANYTHING AT ALL would be much appreciated.

Just as a guide some things I'd love to find out about are:

- buying bikes
- road rules and regulations
- essential gear
- safety
- common/ safe/ unsafe cycling routes
- how to "practice?"
- do you find it worthwhile? Or should I just get the bus?
- and anything else...

Zingy

HSC
how to cycle

get on bike

put left foot on left peddle

put right foot on right peddle

push on whichever foot feels comfortable

keep doing that with both feet going in a circular motion

until

you get really fast

then hit a pebble

then fly over the handle bars

then land on your head

and be a cabbage for the rest of your life

Bikes - Zingy.

sirfeathers

HSC
Zingy said:
how to cycle

get on bike