Do I have a chance of getting a leadership role? (1 Viewer)

MC24

HSC
N/A
Hi, this is my first post so apologies if I've posted it in the wrong forum.

I'm an international student looking to transfer to an Australian high school next year for Year 11 entry (in 2021). What are my chances of getting selected for a leadership role in either Year 11 or Year 12? I believe prefects/captains etc. are chosen by both students and teachers, but obviously as a new student I wouldn't exactly be a popular vote for many people. Would I even have a chance of getting picked? What can I do to maximise my chances of obtaining a leadership role?

Thanks guys :)

c8

HSC
In year 11 and 12 the leadership roles are typically SRC, sports captain, school captain/vice captain, prefect and a few others. Being a genuine person and open to making new friends will go a long way. You have the opportunity to essentially start fresh so make a good impression with your cohort and aim to be outgoing showing you're a well rounded person. Is there also a particular reason you want a leadership role?

blyatman

HSC
N/A
Gotta be specific mate. Legit, when I first read that sentence, the first thing I thought of was not the soft drink. Your brain will automatically interpret "Coke" as a totally different thing as you get older.

AKONS

HSC
You do absolutely have a chance but you have to be aware you will likely be disadvantaged. Those in your year that are already in the SRC or more well-known by their peers tend to be the ones that are elected. So to compensate you will likely have to make friends with everyone and make people aware of you as a good candidate for SRC.

AKONS

HSC