Double Degrees (1 Viewer)

Bekhit

HSC
what does everyone think of double degrees like commerce(business)/engineerin. Are they a waste of time and worth it. What jobs would you be able to get out of such a degree.

Deltan

Noob pharmer
HSC
Bekhit said:
what does everyone think of double degrees like commerce(business)/engineerin. Are they a waste of time and worth it. What jobs would you be able to get out of such a degree.
i would really like to know too

sirfeathers

HSC
Bekhit said:
well, I did my HSC in 2008 too so I have no more experience than you in this matter, but I think double degrees are a great idea! I'm planning to do Science/Arts myself.

Why?

- if you have diverse interests, double degrees make it easier to pursue them.

- to employers, having two degrees shows that you have a wider range of skills, as well as the ability to view problems from a wider perspective than someone with a single degree. IMO this would be especially beneficial with combos like Comm/Eng, because lots of firms need people who can communicate and resolve issues between the management and production of their services.

- more and more people are doing double degrees these days. It's good to stay ahead of the pack

HSC
Even though you've got HECS, two degrees would still bump more money on ya student contribution.

T

Troy2287

In my opinion double degrees are excellent...Getting 2 degrees in a shorter time period then doing them seperatly is great. It proves to future in employers that you are an intelligent individual (as double degrees are more difficult to gain entry to) and also gives you an extra qualification.

However, you may want to consider the amount of work you will need to put in to complete a double degree. Lots more hours of uni + assignments and homework. Also means it will be more difficult to stay on top of it all.

All in all, IMO it is worth it in the end..

Pwnage101

HSC
N/A