Failing a Unit (1 Viewer)

Scorch

HSC
Well, just a question, because I'm ever so slightly curious.

I'm a second year doing a BArts, I'm majoring in Ancient History. I've been doing well, with a distinction and 3 credits 1st semester, but second semester was a genuinely shit semester for a variety of reasons and I got 2 credits, a pass but then one fail in Introductory Latin 2. That's enough of a pain in the ass as it is (even though I still have a credit average) as I have to redo that somehow (summer school I guess) but I was wondering whether there's a huge stigma attached to failing a unit of study? Like ... even if I redo the unit I assume it will still show up, but will it appear as a terrible blotch on my student record or is it really not that bad?

KarmaKitten

HSC
Depends what kind of positions you are going for. Graduate positions I've heard can be incredibly competitive and they may look down on your fail.
While other employers might not be too concerned about it. Its hard to say

As for redoing a subject. You can apply to overload next semester or next year. Saves summer school money!

u-borat

Banned
HSC
hey guys
not to be mean (i do arts)

but like

what employment are you looking at in the future
where you will need latin?

keke

u-borat

Banned
HSC
i was replying to your answer yo

ur the one that brought up employment and shizz :wave:

KarmaKitten

HSC
I was merely discussing failing a subject in general regardless of whether its Latin or something else.

From what I've gathered from friends who've gone through the graduate recruitment program, employers were more concerned as to why you failed rather than what you failed.

jb_nc

Google "9-11" and "truth"
HSC
N/A
Well, just a question, because I'm ever so slightly curious.