How to learn inequalities? (1 Viewer)

QZP

HSC
Anyone got general tips; im just learning inequalities? It's so hard -_- and I don't know in which direction to think

Edit: Atm I'm just doing mass questions to "memorise" the methods for doing them

Last edited:

QZP

HSC
Also got a Q, am I allowed to just quote the AM >= GM inequality?

emilios

HSC
Dw i'm in the same boat but these are some of the things I've picked up:
- Doing heaps of questions definitely does help. Not really actively memorizing things, but just learning how to recognize patterns.
- Most things start from any variation on (a-b)^2 >= 0 (i.e. change up the values of a and b for different q's)
- AM-GM is everything. You use it in like 80% of q's
- Always look at what they've asked you to just prove. You'll almost always use the result of pt i) in pt ii) or iii) or the result in ii) in iii)... you get the point
- While your proof has to be 'fowards' i.e. usually has to start from scratch, you can always work the question out backwards, get to an obviously true result, then reverse the process and cross out your initial working haha

Reactions: QZP

emilios

HSC
Also got a Q, am I allowed to just quote the AM >= GM inequality?
Probs not. It takes like 2-3 lines to prove, just do it this way;

(sqrt(a) - sqrt(b))^2 >=0
a+b -2sqrt(ab) >= 0
a+b/2 >= sqrt(ab)

emilios

HSC
Oh and also making smart substitutions. Say you've just proved:
a^3 + b^3 + c^3 >= 3abc

Letting x= a^3 , y=b^3 , z= c^3 will lead you to the AM-GM result for n=3

QZP

HSC
Oh and also making smart substitutions. Say you've just proved:
a^3 + b^3 + c^3 >= 3abc

Letting x= a^3 , y=b^3 , z= c^3 will lead you to the AM-GM result for n=3
Yeah I picked up on that one hahaha :) Thanks !! Raelly appreciate it

iStudent

HSC
Dw i'm in the same boat but these are some of the things I've picked up:
- Doing heaps of questions definitely does help. Not really actively memorizing things, but just learning how to recognize patterns.