• Want to help us with this year's BoS Trials?
    Let us know before 30 June. See this thread for details
  • Looking for HSC notes and resources?
    Check out our Notes & Resources page

Is it ok to move up to Advanced english After the school Exams on AOS during term 1? (1 Viewer)

tidebringer

HSC
Not sure if i can ask this in this part of the forum but anyways,

I'm a student who just started year 12, and i used to do Advanced English in my Preliminary course but then got dropped Standard due to my prelim exam marks... sadly. To be honest i was being lazy in semester two of year 11 after getting my half yearly report. I came first in the year for english advanced in semester 1 which were related to Area of Study exams etc. However i sort of slacked out and did the preliminary exam poorly and was dropped to Standard for Year 12. So i was wondering, if i put all my effort in now and get good marks in the school assessment task for Area of Study in Term 1 of year 12 and move back up to Advanced English (Which is possible for me at my school as my Head Teacher of English did say that by seeing the result of the first assessment tasks he will drop students in Advanced to Standard and put some in Standard Up) will it be alright to do that? As in moving back to advanced after the Area of Study.I don think it wont really affect me in study will it? I mean since its before we start our modules so ye... Suggestions please...

deswa1

HSC
Re: Is it ok to move up to Advanced english After the school Exams on AOS during term

Wait... I don't get the question... If your school will let you then definitely, definetly, definitely take the oppurtunity and move up. You wouldn't be disadvantaged in terms of what you've learnt (because AOS is common for both) but the aligning is way better in advanced and its not much harder than standard anyway

tidebringer

HSC
Re: Is it ok to move up to Advanced english After the school Exams on AOS during term