John Donne - Death Be Not Proud (1 Viewer)

georgetta

HSC
Hey guys,
looking for some ideas on Donne's Death be Not Proud. I know its sooo full of stuff, but finding it hard to actually link his techniques to what he is saying!! Any help??
Georgetta

xxstef

languages are my world <3
HSC
i'm doing this too!

i suggest you first study the time and society he was writing in: e.g. religion dominated people's lives, everything revolved around it, etc., and then compare with donne's poems, e.g. in Death be not Proud, there is the underlying Christian belief that any Christian will not 'die', it is but a 'short sleepe', and then receive everlasting life.

is that what you meant? anyway, hope that helped. :)

babesterDJ

HSC
I studied this poem a few years ago for the outsiders module :)
By personifying death Donne is trying to overcome his uncertainties and fears based around it. As a metaphysical poet he is questioning, confronting and challenging the power death has over man. You may notice his tone towards death is constantly changing throughout. The first four lines he denigrates it out of fear and if defiant in reassuring himself "nor yet canst thou kill me". The succeeding four lines he seems to praise it, he uses euphemisms and metaphors such as "rest and sleep" to make it sound pleasant and less frightening. "Soul's delivery" is a metaphor for the afterlife. He attacks it the next four lines saying it metaphorically is a "slave" to man, associated with negativities like sickness, war, poision. Mockingly he asks rhetorically why is has such a big head/ego "why swell'st thou then?'
The final couplet is the most important, be sure to discuss how death is a paradox, as what donne is saying is that when man is extinct, death will also die.
As for techniques, the rhyme pattern reflects donnes attempt to control death, narrated in 1st person it is universally applicable. The language is colloquial for donnes age, and the narrator feels insecure.