Newbie - Pointers for a good story (1 Viewer)

bui123

HSC
Hey guys, I'm new to this (amazing that I even made it here) so no hard times please !

I'm starting my major work right now with the planning and whatnot but I wanted to have a few opinions beforehand on what a "good" story is.

So, what makes a good story good?

LoveHateSchool

Retired Sept '14
HSC
Uni Grad
*The writing-seriously, think of the difference between a good and bad novel. It may have an awesome idea but will fall flat if the actual calibre of the writing is not good. It is crucial to not neglect the detail in EE2. (This is why drafting/editing is important)).
*Well planned, things link together in a nice way-your reader wants to go "ohhhh, I remember that from earlier"
*Different things can serve as hooks into story, the plot, the characters, the historical detailing etc.

jtearle1

HSC
My plan is to take a really strong thesis statement (comment about something) and make it the focus of the work.
So, I start with an idea, say "Autism is a trait not a flaw" then I attempt to weave that (Subtly!) throughout my work.
Then it's just about writing well. Draft lots, change your ideas, document everything in your progress diary. :)

funstudy

HSC
Textual integrity- i.e. a motif that links the whole story together is really nice, also grammar and spelling have to be immaculate for a major work, and come up with a question which you are trying to answer in your major work e.g. What is unrequited love....etc.etc. Also just a tip; get your major work draft done in the summer holidays!

Blue Suede

a bedroom philosopher
HSC
Don't have too much dialogue. Show us, don't tell us! And try to make dialogue natural, not stilted. That's gross.

Blue Suede

a bedroom philosopher
HSC
You think so? I know people who love to live off a book with heaps of dialogue and others who prefer major descriptions.