Please help! (1 Viewer)

Willohfish

HSC
N/A
Hi! I'm studying through distance education, and I've decided (Despite the advice of peers and some teachers) to take a full load of subjects next year. I've chosen Bio, Ancient History, Chemistry and Advanced English so far, but I'm having trouble with the last two, particularly maths.

I'm not hugely great with maths. I understand the concept and everything, but it stresses me out a lot, which is a problem with an anxiety disorder like mine. Because of this, my original instinct was to just take General Maths, and then do a bridging course when I go for my Bachelor of Science. This would mean I don't endanger my mental health at all. But I want a mark that's worthy of my potential - I can do maths, and I used to get high marks compared to my grade. It's only the stress I'm worried about.

So I'm kinda looking for advice from existing students, since I'm still lost. Which course of maths would I be best suited to? Should I not worry so much, take General maths and just do a bridging course later on? Or should I go for something higher scaling, possibly meaning I get into Uni sooner but posing a risk to my anxiety? Please help me out!

daryl-d

HSC
I would reccomend mathematics - it scales better than general maths and u can learn it your self and if u have trouble with it just get a tutor

to minimise stress i reccomend finishing which ever maths course u choose be it general or advanced maths as it will take a tonne of pressure of u and thus u can focus on other subjects u struggle with.

hope this helps, good luck with what ever decision u make

AlexJB

Unmotivated
HSC