Question of University (1 Viewer)

interati

I'm a oversea student, I just accept my offer of B Business in UNCLE, for I'm just come Australia for 1 yr, I don't know is it a great Uni, in the homepage of UNCLE it says it was ranked 8th in whole Australia, but why the Uai cut-off for this uni is lower than some Uni ranked lower than it( like UWS)in same course? or does it mean the UNI is great, but the business course is not good?

Ribbon

The main reason is location. Newcastle, although its the largest non-capital city in Australia, is not as popular a location as Western Sydney. It works the same with the top universities, for example ANU (in Canberra) vs USyd, UTS, UNSW (all sydney unis). The UAI cutoff is all about supply and demand... more people allready live in sydney and want to go to sydney than newcastle, and so the UAIs in syd universities are generally higher... You can see this within the same business courses at UWS that are held a 3 different campuses... parramatta campus always has a higher cutoff for the same courses as the othetr UWS campuses because it is in a more desireable location...

As for a comparison of the business courses... I don't know which would be considered better, I havn't heard anything bad about newcastle business, if thats any consolation?

santaslayer

HSC
but like seriously, how many unis are there in aus?.....being 8th isnt really that good

hipsta_jess

Up the mighty red V
HSC
N/A
well lets see, in NSW alone there is:
sydney
nsw
western sydney
newcastle
new england
southern cross
woolongong

umm...i think thats it

then theres all the ones in act, vic, sa, wa, nt, tas and qld

8th is pretty good

Lexicographer

Retired 13 May 2006
HSC
Originally posted by santaslayer
but like seriously, how many unis are there in aus?.....being 8th isnt really that good
Actually it's very good, Australia has many more universities than you think. Sydney alone has four, plus satellite campuses from at least three others.