• Want to help us with this year's BoS Trials?
    Let us know before 30 June. See this thread for details
  • Looking for HSC notes and resources?
    Check out our Notes & Resources page

Should I drop economics or biology or keep then drop in the future? (1 Viewer)

HeroicPandas

Heroic!
HSC
I got 60% for bio. 51% for eco

For bio i crammed in the end, eco i studied hard for half yearly, and crammed in the end

I crammed more in bio than eco - by rote learning

Which should i drop, which is harder in HSC, can i get through bio and get band 5/6 by rote learning?

I am willing to go hardout considering my infinite motivation as I taught myself self-discipline during the holidays

​thanks

jnney

lemon
HSC
Questions for biology:

-Is the only reason why you attained that result for biology was because you crammed and rote learned?

-Was year 11 biology just shitty and boring?

HeroicPandas

Heroic!
HSC
Questions for biology:

-Is the only reason why you attained that result for biology was because you crammed and rote learned?

-Was year 11 biology just shitty and boring?
Yes jnney, it was boring

I didn't study consistently and constantly, forgot everything so i rote learned

jnney

lemon
HSC
Tell me about it. Year 11 biology was the biggest bs for me. I think I stopped giving a f. after the second module - I crammed the 4 modules three or four days before the finals and attained ..maybe 74% or something, lol. I hated biology.

The year 12 course is much more different though - it's definitely more interesting - well, depending on what you like.

You'll learn about:

-The human body (different functions, processes), diseases - in which you will go into more depth if you study communications/genetics/biotech as your options
-And the inevitable, a bit about plants in the first module
-Human evolution

There's much more, so I suggest flicking through a textbook. For me, HSC biology is about 1000 times better than preliminary.