Standard english or advance english??? PLZ HELP!!!! SRSLY! (1 Viewer)

chrisong1

HSC
N/A
When I go to the 2011 atar calculator
the scallin for advance english and standard english is basically the same WTF??????

i always thought that advance english scales exceptionally well???

I guess im an average student at english getting b's in advance,,

after using the atar calculator im thinkin of dropping to standard.

can anyone actually explain why scalling for advance and standard is the same>????

SpiralFlex

HSC
N/A
the scallin for advance english and standard english is basically the same WTF??????

can anyone actually explain why scalling for advance and standard is the same>????
I believe you are getting confused with aligning and scaling, English Advanced aligns better than Standard.

annagurl

HSC
N/A

You do advanced english?
Don't make me go all grammar nazi on you :p

ibbi00

HSC
There's been a similar thread recently. Look it up.

pony_magician

townie for worst user
HSC
That's because there is no difference in scaling. Many people confuse the terms scaling and aligning.

Aligning is the adjustment of your raw marks in the HSC exam to a final mark that is reported to you. This is done by BOS.
Scaling is related to how far a subject goes to contribute to a higher ATAR. This is done by UAC.

So the general consensus is that Standard aligns significantly lower than Advanced and it is therefore much harder to achieve a band 6 in this subject. e.g. only 62 students last year managed this compared to thousands in Advanced. So ultimately a 90 in Standard or Advanced will have the same effect on your ATAR.
http://community.boredofstudies.org...e-scale-the-same-according-to-ATAR-calculator

Haven't you asked this already?

powlmao

Banned
HSC
It determined by how everyone goes. If you do standard and you really good you can get higher in the state

SpiralFlex

HSC
N/A