stressful family relationship + depression (1 Viewer)

misericordia

Confused Member
HSC
Uni Grad
hi, i'm not sure whether this is the right place to post this thread, but i need people's advice on handling my situation (i should talk to the counsellor about this, but my mum thinks that talking about family problem to someone is 'betrayal', and counsellor doesn't really help-she tried to have discussion with my mum, but she also called is a 'disgusting betrayal' as well...i cant ring any helplines because she listens to me when i talk on the phone...)
basically, i'm an international student and live in as same room as my mum, because i got kicked out from certain type of accomodation (but i won't go into details). mum can't speak any english and is afraid to go out on her own, so i have to go shopping with her all the time. she says stuff like, 'you should be more honest to me', 'you sacrificed your our money/two years of my life'...basically how she hates living here, how i'm a bad daughter, how i destroyed their life etc etc....all the time. she even tells me sometime, 'you are just wasting our money. don't you get it? if you don't get it why don't you withdraw all the money in my account and light a fire on it, it might help you understand, get out and do it now', slaps me and chuck my school materials on the floor saying how the room is messy, how i'm careless....when there is only few bundles of paper lying on the floor...