Shadow999

HSC
Sup

Im hoping for med 2013, gotta know which uni is better:spzz:

pros cons pls, and any advice/opinions.

Cheers

m.jakaran

HSC
(In before the politically correct comments arguing that both are AMA accredited and that's all that matters.) Anyway, imo UWS has a better course structure, but the UNSW ILP program is great for building industry contacts which are apparently very useful. It could also be argued that UNSW entrance is far more competitive so you'll study with a higher caliber of students but honestly I don't think HSC success neccessarily flows on to uni-I know many people who've scored 99.5+ and are now scraping by on a credit/pass average. Additionally there's the obvious 1 year advantage with UWS but the commute could be a hassle. Either way, they're both good courses and both can prepare you well for internship. Btw I'm an imparial Usyd student lol

Dylanamali

HSC
^ well said,

along with that.. however,
5k scholarship /year from UWS.

IMO, depending on where you live and the convenience would be where you decide to study medicine.

mirakon

nigga
HSC
As a uws student who is good friends with a lot of unsw guys this is what I got:

-Unsw obviously has a more experienced faculty.
-Unsw is affiliated with hospitals that possess better facilities
-Unsw has a more prestigious reputation (imo this last point isn't really what I care about tbh)
-greater scope for extracurricular activities at unsw
-There's more stuff to do around campus

-Uws is a 5 year course instead of unsw's 6 yrs for the same amount of content, so you'll be out working faster.
-Uws has a lot more of a clinical focus, so you get a lot more practical experience
-The school of med gets an absolute crapload of funding and thus has awesome facilities.
-A lot of the lecturers have a crapload of experience, having not only taught at other unis for many years but some have gained international recognition for their research.