What makes someone a BAD tutor? (1 Viewer)

integral95

HSC
So I stumbled an article about good and bad tutors, but I'd like so hear some personal experiences from my fellow peers here.

So have you had a terrible tutor? if so then how?

I'm a tutor myself, and let's just say that greed hasn't overcome my morals.

boredsatan

HSC
In my opinion, a bad tutor is a tutor who expects high standards from his student without offering much assistance.

Queenroot

I complete the Squar3
HSC
N/A
I tutor and get paid probably minimum wage for a tutor
so yeah defs not greedy

I try to explain things the way I like things explained to me - might not be the best approach but i think my students understand

KingOfActing

lukewarm mess
HSC
Imo a bad tutor is someone who only teaches the course content exactly as is and doesn't try to explain anything beyond it, shutting down questions that don't lie exactly within the scope of the course (every time I hear "you don't need to know that right now/for this course" I cringe - is it that hard to even give a short 1-2 sentence explanation?)

WildestDreams

HSC
Someone who expects you to turn up to every.single.lesson without letting you take breaks coz there too greedy for money.

He-Mann

Vexed?
HSC
N/A
Too many to list but the some important ones are:

1) Often times has trouble explaining concepts

2) Hard to approach e.g. even they may appear 'nice', but are passively condescending

3) Gets uneasy when a student knows more or solved a problem that the tutor could not solve

4) Unaware of a student's progress, hence strengths/weaknesses/growth rate

5) Rarely pushes students out of their comfort zone i.e. students are rarely challenged and thus exhibit low growth

Last edited:

integral95

HSC
I tutor and get paid probably minimum wage for a tutor
so yeah defs not greedy

I try to explain things the way I like things explained to me - might not be the best approach but i think my students understand