What the heck is HECS-HELP??? (1 Viewer)

epsilon

HSC
OK, while registering for UTS's B. Business, I came across this question: "Are you a Pre-2005 student?" Which I obviously am not, since I'm ENROLLING into it right now! I've also noticed that the HECS booklet which came with my offer letter also talks a lot about "Pre-2005 students" and how they are eligible to get HECS-HELP. What's the difference between HECS-HELP and Commenwealth-support (HECS) places?

My question is this: I'm an Australian Permanent Resident, and I'm obviously NOT a "Pre-2005 student". From what I've read in that booklet, I would have to pay my fees up front and I'm not eligible for HECS-HELP. Wtf!!! Is this true? I am only eligible to get my Aussie citizenship in July this year. Anybody else in the same position as me?

epsilon

HSC
Does it matter? Malaysia. Are Commonwealth-suported (or HECS places, as it was formerly called) places and HECS-HELP the same thing, or is HECS-HELP some kind of additional financial assistance in addition to HECS places? I'm very confused right now...

Last edited:

Panda Bear

arab chicks? :|
HSC
if you read more slowly: http://www.goingtouni.gov.au/Main/Quickfind/PayingForYourStudiesHELPLoans/HECSHELP.htm

you will see it says:

You are eligible for HECS-HELP if you are a Commonwealth supported student and:
an Australian citizen, or
the holder of a permanent humanitarian visa.

a humanitarian visa could be the same as permanant residency, not sure.

if you scroll down, it has a form for those enrolling after 1st jan. 2005.

HECS and HECS-HELP would be different things i would imagine in some other way.

absolution*

ymyum
HSC
Panda Bear said:
a humanitarian visa could be the same as permanant residency, not sure.
No its not. Being Malaysian i doubt you have a humanitarian visa. By my understanding, you will have to pay your HECS up-front until you are an Australian citizen.

absolution*

ymyum
HSC