Accelerated math predicament (1 Viewer)

dionb2014

HSC
Hey BoSers,

I have a predicament when it comes to accelerated math. I have just completed year 9 and have completed both the year 9 and 10 curriculum in mathematics but I am moving schools next year. I have looked on my current schools booklist and my class will be getting 3 unit Cambridge prelim textbook. I look at my new schools booklist and their highest class still only gets stage 5 year 10 5.2-5.3 textbook. Really it would be so frustrating to have done the math and have it wasted. I also have an email from my current math teacher saying that I am getting an A in terms of year 10 not just year 9 and that I am a good math student and whatever just verifying that I have actually completed year 10.

Thanks for your advice guys

nazfiz

HSC
Don't move schools. Having 3 unit maths out of the way in yr 11 gives you time to focus on other subjects in yr 12. This will put you at a massive advantage and will in the long run, maximize your ATAR.

dionb2014

HSC
But I feel like if worst comes to worst the sacrifice is kind of worth it. I'm moving from a rank 70ish school to a school ranking in the 20's. As a competitive person I believe I will work harder if people around me are doing better.

dionb2014

HSC
I know unlikely but I will ask anyway. Is there ANY possibility at all that they would put me into a year 11 class just for math and I could stay after school or whatever to make up the hours and I could work around them to do everything in terms of lines and what not.

bleakarcher

HSC
go on ur own dude, there are plenty of online resources such as this site that can help u accelerate in mx1

LoveHateSchool

Retired Sept '14
HSC
Uni Grad
You seem self motivated, and I know from my perspective I don't see a massive point/difference between 50 ranks up the top end-both excellent schools. Wouldn't it be better to keep accelerating at your current school and getting some units done early?

dionb2014

HSC