How exactly do you study english? (1 Viewer)

quite pro

HSC
hey, this is my first time posting here. i'm getting pretty average marks in english (80ish) and awesome marks (95+) in maths and science, which are the only subjects i care about. i plan on doing 2u english, ext 2 maths and phys, bio and chem and maybe something else but i'm pretty sure my english mark will screw me over. does anyone have any advice for studying english? also, would doing 2u rather than 3u english negatively impact my UAI?

p.s in case it wasn't clear, i meant advice for studying both year 10 english and senior english.
p.p.s i go to baulkham hills high

foram

Awesome Member
HSC
quite pro said:
hey, this is my first time posting here. i'm getting pretty average marks in english (80ish) and awesome marks (95+) in maths and science, which are the only subjects i care about. i plan on doing 2u english, ext 2 maths and phys, bio and chem and maybe something else but i'm pretty sure my english mark will screw me over. does anyone have any advice for studying english? also, would doing 2u rather than 3u english negatively impact my UAI?

p.s in case it wasn't clear, i meant advice for studying both year 10 english and senior english.
p.p.s i go to baulkham hills high
Haha, i had the same problem as you, and i still do. I guess you can try getting an english tutor. But if you're getting over 80% in english at baulkham hills, then you'll get scaled to about 90% i guess. baulkham hills is much better than manly selective.

quite pro

HSC
thanks for the reply. yeah looks like i may need to get a tutor. i'll probably just get one at the beginning of year 11, seems like a waste to pay to improve in year 10.

Aerath

Retired
HSC
N/A
Ah - you go to Baulko eh? Quite a few nice people there. :)

~Fire Jade~

HSC
Ever heard the line 'practice makes perfect'?
Just do the same for english and make sure to practise past papers and do the essays. Learn a bunch of techniques- it'd be really useful

Aerath