Is 3 unit mathematics (ext 1 maths) that hard? (1 Viewer)

robyatt

HSC
hey i'm a year 10 student and i have just chosen my subjects for yr 11 i'm currently doing:
Advanced English
Extension 1 English
Advanced Maths
Extension 1 Maths
Business Studies
V.A
Chemistry

i've heard that extension 1 maths is quite hard and you need to commit a lot more time into it than other subjects, i'm kinda wary of my choice on choosing it since i am not that great at maths to start off with (around average at my school).

enoilgam

HSC
i've heard that extension 1 maths is quite hard and you need to commit a lot more time into it than other subjects, i'm kinda wary of my choice on choosing it since i am not that great at maths to start off with (around average at my school).
It really depends on the person - I did MX1 in Year 11 and found it hard and needed to put in quite a fair bit of effort. However, there are people out there who dont find it that difficult (especially on BoS). If you have done well in Maths during Year 10, then I'd say give it a go - even though I dropped it, I dont regret doing it because my Maths skills went up heaps and it made me that much better at 2 Unit. Remember, you can always drop down, but you cant pick it up later if you change your mind.

Drongoski

HSC
N/A
Hard or not depends on your ability. Best to start working hard right now on improving your maths so that, come next year, you won't find MX1 so hard, provided of course you have some aptitude for maths. But if you do not have a head for maths, work as hard as you like, you'll still struggle.

ashbash4210

HSC