Is this a good combination? (1 Viewer)

HSC
I'm in year 10 and I'm doing subject selection for next year. I'm not sure what course I want to do in uni but I'm pretty good with maths and foreign languages. I'm not that good at writing essays though :( I'm thinking about doing these subjects:

English - probably advanced since most people at my school do it, but I might end up doing standard if I do badly in the next few tests. My school doesn't have ESL as an option.
Maths - year 12 2 unit + year 11 extension 1, because I'm doing accelerated this year
Chemistry
Physics
French Continuers
Japanese Continuers
(13 units in total)

Is this a good combination? Will it be hard? What are good uni/career options if I do these subjects? I'm not from Australia and I'm planning to go back to my hometown to work. As for uni, I might do it here or overseas, I'm not sure yet.

Last edited:

sharoooooo

HSC
well, you said maths and foreign languages are your strong points, so i guess they are good options and they wont be hard if youre good at it?
it doesnt really matter what you do at school, its the ATAR that counts in the end that determines the options you have for uni courses.
So just stick with what your good at :)

si2136

HSC
N/A
Your subjects are quite good, but stick with Advanced. You can always drop it, and being in Advanced for a year is giving you an advantage to all the students doing Standard for a year.

WrittenLoveLetters

배고파
HSC
The best combination is something you feel you're confident in.

Its too subjective, especially with what is the "best" combination. My best combination is Business & Economics, but for others its not.

blackbird_14

HSC
The best combination is something you feel you're confident in.

Its too subjective, especially with what is the "best" combination. My best combination is Business & Economics, but for others its not.