• Want to help us with this year's BoS Trials?
    Let us know before 30 June. See this thread for details
  • Looking for HSC notes and resources?
    Check out our Notes & Resources page

should i drop Maths 4U? (1 Viewer)

dakotarella

HSC
Currently, I am doing:
English Advanced
Maths 4U
Japanese 3U (extension included)
Chinese 3U (extension included)

I REALLY REALLY want to drop 4u Maths because I normally have to spend 2 days on the weekend just to do an exercise from the Terry Lee 4U textbook, which means less time for me to study other subjects....

I am really considering dropping 4u maths, try harder in everything else and raise my marks and ranks....

By the way,

For English and 3U Maths, I normally get in the 80s...
and for Japanese and Chinese, normally 90+.

Ever since Year Seven, I've been ranked in Top 12...
For Yr 11 actually, I came 6th in the year.

I am an overseas student, so my English isn't perfect obviously,
but I've been here too long so I am not allowed to do ESL either, which is a shame really...

I am aiming for 95 for my ATAR. (higher would be better of course.)

Provided that I try really hard to raise my marks, do you think it will be possible for me to achieve 95+ without doing 4u maths and the sciences?

My friends obviously say I shouldn't drop it, but I really can't stand doing 4U for the whole weekend, without doing anything else......
I don't think I am mentally prepared to face 4U..

I don't know, do you think I am just trying to take the easy option ?

MetroMattums

HSC
4U is 4U for a reason. It IS hard work. It is meant to test your ability to think as well as your ability to solve problems that might not have particularly straightforward solutions.

You might not be taking the easy option - but you have to consider yourself, for instance, if you would rather forgo the scaling that 4U offers for extra time in the rest of your subjects.

In the end, you have to decide yourself.

arcaox

HSC