The HSC Music 2007 Chatter Thread (1 Viewer)

ur_inner_child

.%$^!@&^#(*!?.%$^?!.
HSC
Hello 2007ers! Welcome to the music forum!

In past years this forum was able to make a lot of connections and good friends, especially 2004 and 05 where many met up at their conservatoriums, or even went to gigs with each other! 2006 I think 2 people who wanted to go to the QLD conservatorium found each other! We hope to do similar connections here this year!

So tell us about yourself!

Things like your instrument, your passion, your ideas on the course, bitching and moaning about the course, your goals, your taste in music, etc.

I'll start off (even though I'm not an 07er!).

I'm just finishing my 2nd year of a Bachelor of Music (Composition) at the Sydney Conservatorium of Music. I have hopes to do some audio engineering. I play piano... and I'm not very good at it! My taste in music varies. I like anything from trash pop to snobby art music, but I find it hard to accept rap most of the time. In Year 12 I played a piece called Red Blues by Australian Composer Carl Vine. I also wrote 4 compositions, for Music 2 and Music Extension. That was incredibly hard to get through! Throughout this time, I accompanied a few Music 1 students.

Anyway, have fun posting! Keep in mind sometimes this forum gets a little slow, but when it kicks up, it really kicks up!

Last edited:

DH1988

HSC
Hi :)
I'm doing Music 2 and Music Ext (Performance) this year. The performance part finished last term, so hopefully I went well in that, and the Music 2 exam is tomorrow :p Got any words of wisdom you can share with me?

I've got an A.mus.A on Clarinet and also play a bit of sax as well.

You're right about that composition stuff. I found it hard enough writing only one for the Music 2 course!

I like listening to pretty much anything really, however I'm not a great fan of opera or trance rubbish :p

I've put in an application for the Sydney Con, and I believe the auditions are held in late November :)