• Best of luck to the class of 2020 for their HSC exams. You got this!
    Let us know your thoughts on the HSC exams here
  • Looking for HSC notes and resources?
    Check out our Notes & Resources page

who is using linux (1 Viewer)

STx

Boom Bap
Joined
Sep 5, 2004
Messages
473
Location
Sydney
Gender
Male
HSC
2006
Schroedinger said:
Used to have Gentoo Stage 1 install but then got a girlfriend and needed spare time.
ahaha fair enough, arch has many people switching over from Gentoo who got tired of all the compiling.
 
Joined
Jul 11, 2008
Messages
526
Gender
Female
HSC
2008
i switched to ubuntu , i tried to install 8.04, but then the screen resolution got stuck at 800x600 and I got sick of it so now i am on 7.04 which i could get to 8.04 without problems though
 

emytaylor164

Active Member
Joined
Feb 13, 2007
Messages
1,736
Gender
Female
HSC
N/A
want2bdifferent said:
i switched to ubuntu , i tried to install 8.04, but then the screen resolution got stuck at 800x600 and I got sick of it so now i am on 7.04 which i could get to 8.04 without problems though
i am on 8.04 now, fixed the problem.
 

JUSTINISANGLO

Member
Joined
Mar 20, 2006
Messages
54
Gender
Male
HSC
2004
Hackintoshes are fucking fast. What hardware are you running it on? Have you had any stability issues?
 

Riet

Tomcat Pilot
Joined
Mar 9, 2006
Messages
3,623
Location
Miramar, CA
Gender
Male
HSC
2013
I had to use some kind of Linux at uni when I was doing CSE. Never really got the full hang of it. XP SP2 4 life. People can knock windows but SP2 is fucking stable and fast.
 

Riet

Tomcat Pilot
Joined
Mar 9, 2006
Messages
3,623
Location
Miramar, CA
Gender
Male
HSC
2013
JUSTINISANGLO said:
Hackintoshes are fucking fast. What hardware are you running it on? Have you had any stability issues?
After reading about it, I want to do this (again). Apparently 10.4.3 will suck my nForce3 and SATA HDD off and then turn around and let my 9800 Pro fuck it from behind. 10.4.7 might be able to too.
 

A High Way Man

all ova da world
Joined
Jul 16, 2007
Messages
1,607
Location
Sydney
Gender
Male
HSC
2006
say what.. i think Leo4All is the best option atm

Currrently running andLinux .. ubuntu SEAMLESSLY running on vista.. with bash, apt-get, gcc, emacs, geany and countless others running in all their glory.

Dad's got a hectic Oracle server in the garage, i installed andlinux + LAMP on dat, orsum
 

DLtoken

New Member
Joined
Jul 17, 2008
Messages
4
Gender
Male
HSC
2010
JUSTINISANGLO said:
Hackintoshes are fucking fast. What hardware are you running it on? Have you had any stability issues?
10.5.2 is running now. I have a custom box so to go into the specs would take a while... I had to patch ethernet and audio, but that is virtually expected. My 8800gt is running great too. So, no complaints for a fun and free OS. :uhhuh:
 

me121

Premium Member
Joined
Apr 19, 2006
Messages
1,416
Location
-33.917188, 151.232890
Gender
Male
HSC
2007
DLtoken said:
10.5.2 is running now. I have a custom box so to go into the specs would take a while... I had to patch ethernet and audio, but that is virtually expected. My 8800gt is running great too. So, no complaints for a fun and free OS. :uhhuh:
OSX is free?
 

+Po1ntDeXt3r+

Active Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2003
Messages
3,527
Gender
Undisclosed
HSC
2003
me121 said:
OSX is free?
patched install... its not free per se its lik $150 normally.. and also Mac is unix based not based on a linux kernal but its not noticable..

on machines tat wont run OSX i like the option of compiz plus ur fave linux distro.. pretty and functional
 

Riet

Tomcat Pilot
Joined
Mar 9, 2006
Messages
3,623
Location
Miramar, CA
Gender
Male
HSC
2013
DLtoken said:
10.5.2 is running now. I have a custom box so to go into the specs would take a while... I had to patch ethernet and audio, but that is virtually expected. My 8800gt is running great too. So, no complaints for a fun and free OS. :uhhuh:
What CPU/Chipset are you using? Also IDE or SATA hard drive? I'm not entirely sure why mine didn't work, at first I thought it was teh ATI card, but when I used my sister's Nvidia it had a different problem, but with the same result.
 

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

Top