$200 CityRail Penalty Appeal HELP (1 Viewer)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Flying

HSC
Hey there,

I received an on the spot $200 fine from CityRail. I bought a ticket from a station - Single, One way, City Circle. I planned on getting off at Station X and did. A CityRail officer came up to me and checked my ticket. I told them that I didn't realise Station X was not part of the City Circle. They said thats fine. However, what I received the fine for, was for not having a proof of eligibility as I had bought a concession. I am 18 and had my drivers license. Whenever I catch a train I always press concession because I am a student and 18 and I was not aware that I have to have a specific concession card, I thought that a license is adequate. Also, this was my genuine mistake as Sydney ticket machines have a message on the bottom left hand of the machine telling what card I need - something which I just found out, after many years of catching trains. (http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/7/7b/Cityrail_Ticket_Vending_Machine.jpg)

When purchasing the ticket, I thought to myself - where is the adult button?

There are four options when selecting the ticket type:

Pensioner/Senior Citizen
Child under 16
Student/Apprentice
Others entitled to half fare

I selected Student/Apprentice - because that is what I am. However, a day after this happened my mate told me that there is no adult button, and that if I leave it - the machine will automatically select adult. Even though I have been catching Sydney trains for a very long time - I always used my student school pass and whenever I wasn't going to and from school I always selected concession.

I understand that it is up to me to be aware of the rules of buying a concession card, however what I did was a completely genuine mistake - I have been catching trains nearly every single day for 9 years and did not realise.