More studying = more nerves? (1 Viewer)

yeah_boy

HSC
Does anyone else find that the more they prepare themselves for an exam, the more stressed out and nervous they become?

For my yearly exams, I did a few days prior a lot of revision on some of my subjects, and it stressed me out so much.. Going through textbooks made me think "Shit! I need to know so much more than I thought!" and I'd write up massive 15 - 20 page summaries and try to remember lots of facts, dates, info, quotes etc and I was so worried that I wouldn't remember anything, and that I'd fail.. I couldn't even sleep! And I'd wake up feeling physically ill, because of the exams.. And then once the exam was done, I'd realised that.. most of what I studied was in fact, irrelevant. And by my last couple exams, i was "over it", so I didn't really study, just did basic summaries, looked over book etc.. and I didn't really feel nervous, sick, and I could sleep well that night before..

Anybody else experience this too??

ninetypercent

ninety ninety ninety
HSC
If you don't study, it probably means that you don't care about the subject and so you're less nervous.

hi 5! I couldn't sleep well before my Maths exam. had only around 4 hours of sleep... haha

Paradox.101

HSC
Yep it's so true.
But ironically, if I barely study for an upcoming exam I usually do fairly well.
If I cram, I end up with crappy results.

saberbladexx

HSC
NEVER NEVER EVER look over your textbook and revise before the exam. You will end up finding something you dont know, stress, forget what you do know and mess it all up.

Just do brief revision the day before, and in the morning listen to some music(Out loud not with earphones), it'll ease you're stress.

:D

ninetypercent

ninety ninety ninety
HSC
I crammed for these Yearlies and ended up with marks in the top 5. I studied slow and steady for the Half yearlies and had marks in the top 10..

Timothy.Siu

Prophet 9
HSC